Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sébastien Fritsch, Ecrivain
12 février 2012

That time of the night (Marillion)

"And if my owners let me have some free time some day 
With all good intention, I would probably run away... Clutching the short straw"


That  Time of the Night
Lyrics : Derek W. Dick / Music : Derek W. Dick, Mark Kelly, Ian Mosley, Steven Rothery, Pete Trewavas)
From the  Album "Clutching at Straws" (1987)

It was a wedding ring
Destined to be found in a cheap hotel 
Lost in a kitchen sink or thrown in a wishing well

At that time of the night 
When streetlights throw crosses through window frames 
Paranoia roams where the shadows reign 
Oh, at that time of the night

At that time of the night 
Your senses tangled in some new perfume 
Criticism triggers of a loaded room 
Oh, at that time of the night

So if you ask me 
How do I feel inside 
I could honestly tell you 
We've been taken on a very long ride 
And if my owners let me have some free time some day 
With all good intention I would probably run away 
Clutching the short straw

At that time of the night 
When questions rally in an open mind 
Summon all your answers with an ice cubes chime 
At that time of the night

At that time of the night 
Pretend you're off the hook with the telephone 
Your confidence wounded in a free fire zone 
Oh, at that time of the night

So if you ask me 
Where do I go from here 
My next destination even isn't really that clear 
So if you join me and get on your knees and prey
I'll show you salvation 
We'll take the alternative way 
Clutching the short straw

If I had enough money I'd buy a round for that boy over there 
A companion in my madness in the mirror the one with the silvery hair 
And if some kind soul could please pick up my tab 
And while they're at it if they could pick up my broken heart.

Warm wet circles

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité